Barbie, You’ve Got the Look!

Tiny plastic high heel shoes, mini handbags complete with hairbrushes and mirrors, and all those little outfits! It was enough to make any gal squeal with delight! I was fortunate enough to have a wonderful grandfather who surprised me with a gift. A friend he knew made several outfits for my Barbie dolls! My absolute favorite was a pink and white plaid long sleeve floor length dress! I dare say I had the best dressed gal of all time!

My childhood did include several dolls, not just one. The first one was Malibu Barbie, but she didn’t fair so well when I left her outside and our dachshund Rex took a liking to her and chewed her feet off and severed one leg. Due to my creativity early on, I introduced Malibu Barbie as a survivor of a shark attack in California.

“Oh, gosh! I barely escaped that big ole shark with sharp teeth. Ken saved me!”

Ballerina Barbie twirled. “It’s good he saved you!”

Malibu Skipper hugged her big sister, Malibu Barbie. “Glad you can still walk!”

If you aren’t familiar with Barbie’s feet, they are designed to fit the tiny shoes. Since her feet were chewed off and one leg severed, I put her in casts. Pocket size klennex and scotch tape did the trick, but if water splashed up on her at pool side…they had to be replaced. So one afternoon, I snuck into my Mama’s first aid kit and eyed the answer to Barbie’s cast problems.

“Once it’s stuck, it’s stuck!”

There was a problem though. The first aid tape’s adhesive was incredibly strong. My first attempt to wrap one leg had ripples in it. Since Barbie liked to look her best, I tried to take the rippled tape off and nearly slam tore off her entire leg! So, I took Mama’s sewing kit and wrapped rickrack around her cast and tied it in a bow. I carefully took my time as a wrapped her other leg with tape then rickrack. Perfect!

Here in present day Barbie dolls have evolved into new styles and shapes, accessories and playsets. Outfits are sold separately from $4.99 and up. My mind spins whenever I visit the  Barbie aisle at Toys R Us! I admit I am a little jealous of the multitude of items.

And if that Barbie link gets your mind spinning, then you hafta watch this video I stumbled onto last night. While working on a future blog post, I ran across a new fashion trend.

Playdoh Fashion Ariana Style

Who knows I might have to whip me up some homemade playdough and climb up in the attic for my storage box of Barbies….can’t you see the headline now? Next on Pinterest: Playdoh Fashion…Nailed it!!

Seriously these crafters have way too much time on their hands. Besides how many hours did it take to perfect their skill???

Want to try to create Barbie Fashion? Finds a picture to copy with Playdoh and go! Send me a copy of your artwork to frazzledbutblessed@mail.com and I will post your creation! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

